State license

Colorado Journeyman Electrician License

Written by a licensed IBEW journeyman electrician

Last updated:

Colorado licenses journeyman electricians at the state level. The Colorado State Electrical Board issues the license after you pass a PSI exam. You need 8,000 hours earned in no less than 4 years, and 288 hours of classroom education. The exam has 90 scored items and you need 70% to pass.

The facts, from the source

Who licenses
Colorado State Electrical Board, Division of Professions and Occupations, DORA (dpo.colorado.gov)
Exam (questions/time)
90 scored items, 240 minutes plus 30 minutes for non-scored items. Single Journeyman Wireman exam with compensatory scoring. (test-takers.psiexams.com)
References
The NEC book and a Formula Page are provided at the test center. No writing, highlighting, underlining or indexing, and no other materials. (test-takers.psiexams.com)
Passing score
70% (63 items) correct (test-takers.psiexams.com)
NEC edition
2026 NEC for exams effective 8/1/2026. A 2023 book is available on request until 12/1/2026. (test-takers.psiexams.com)
Experience required
8,000 hours earned in no less than 4 years, 2,000 of them commercial or industrial, plus 288 hours of classroom education for all applicants. (dpo.colorado.gov)
Fees
Exam $78. Retest $73. Valid one year, nonrefundable. (test-takers.psiexams.com)
Reciprocity
Journeyman reciprocal agreements (NERA): Alaska, Arkansas, Idaho, Iowa, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming. The license must have been gained by a state-administered exam. The certificate is issued without the written exam. (dpo.colorado.gov)

What’s on the exam

Items per area: General Electrical Knowledge 11; Services, Feeders, and Branch Circuits 9; Grounding and Bonding 14; Overcurrent Protection 6; Conductors and Cables 8; Raceways and Boxes 5; Special Occupancies 5; Special Equipment 6; Electrical Devices 5; Motors 6; Transformers 4; Photovoltaics 2; Electrical Calculations 9 (90 total).

Confirm these with the board

  • License and application fees: not published in the materials we checked
  • Credit for trade school or community college toward the experience hours: confirm with the board (not stated on the board pages we could read)
  • Reciprocity conditions such as how long the out-of-state license must have been held: confirm with the board (not stated on the board pages we could read)

Colorado State Electrical Board (DORA, Division of Professions and Occupations) ↗

Partly verified October 24, 2026: some items couldn’t be confirmed from official sources and are listed above

Sparky AI app icon

Sparky AI app · iPhone & Android

Study the NEC with an AI that cites the article

Sparky AI answers code questions with exact NEC article citations and has electrical calculators for box fill, conduit fill and voltage drop. It’s a study aid, not a state exam simulator. Free 7-day trial.

Download Sparky AI on the App StoreGet Sparky AI on Google Play

All states · NEC exam study guide · NEC practice test

Facts on this page trace to primary sources or first-hand IBEW Local 134 experience — see sources & methodology.

Sparky AI app icon

Sparky AI · iPhone & Android

Rank higher on the IBEW list.

2,100+ practice questions, 30 full-length timed tests, an AI mock interview and alerts for 261 locals. Free 7-day trial.

Download Sparky AI on the App StoreGet Sparky AI on Google Play

Sparky AI app

Free 7-day trial

Get the App